What Should I Do Next?

 

Dear Jodi,

It’s a snowy blizzard today.  There is beauty in snow-covered trees, winter silence, walks in the snow and warming up by the fire.

But, today is different – there is no immediate end for this storm.  And so during many hours of shoveling snow, I was thinking “what matters most to Jodi?”

You taught me what matters most  (in spite of the storm) – do the things you can do. 

Is it possible to accept our path through life?  Can I share our path with others and acknowledge beauty in the storm?  The answer does not lie with should, could or would but rather . . .

What can I do next? 

Love,

Mom

11 Comments

Filed under Coaching, Leadership, Life Coaching

11 responses to “What Should I Do Next?

  1. Starla J. King

    Peg, once again, your words catch my core with a blend of hope, sadness, loss, and gain.

    I absolutely love the photo!

    I noticed today, reading this post, that part of what is so rich about your Letters to Jodi is that not only are you allowing us to get to know Jodi and you as Daughter/Mother, but also as equal journeyers in this unpredictable life (and death).

    Again, thank you. I’m off to go do the next thing…

  2. Katie Gossett

    Mrs. C,

    Finding this blog has been extremely therapeutic in a time of year that I know is difficult for you and also those who loved Jodi. Your words would mean the world to her and all that you have done would have made her so proud. Although I have not yet been able to push as hard as you have to run a marathon, I started where I could when Anna and I ran our first 5K this past fall.

    I live everyday making sure I follow those words that she lived by, “do not let what you cannot do interfere with what you can do.”

    Miss you and you guys are in my thoughts,
    Always, Katie

    • Peg Calvario

      Katie,
      Your comment and words are so very much appreciated! There really is so much to write and share …. and yes, Jodi is very proud of you, too. Your unconditional love and compassion on this journey is a special gift we all share and cherish. Maybe there’s a 5K in the future for all three of us.
      Mrs. C

  3. Mary Beth (Provost)

    Peg, what a lovely testiment to the gift of family and time that you had with Jodi. This made me smile and remember Jodi with her indomidable spirit and love of life. It reminds me to live my life to the fullest as she showed us all. Thank you for sharing. Love ya’ girl! MB

    • Peg Calvario

      Mary Beth,
      Thank you for our connection and your comment! My heart is happy that you have been touched by our gifts from Jodi. I’ll have to write about our travels to Greenville via ’96 summer olympics.
      Peg

  4. Another beautiful picture of Jodi! Beautifully muscular!!

  5. Beth

    Beautiful Peg, I love this picture; it warms my heart even with Jodi in her bikini standing in the snow! Jodi inspires me to capture the delights each day presents.

    • Peg Calvario

      Beth,
      Your comment is greatly appreciated. You and Jodi shared a very beautiful gift – your friendship! This gift was much deeper than the words of nurse and aunt, it was a special love. And that is one of the many delights for me.
      Peg

  6. What should you do next? Put your bikini on in the snow! 🙂

    Another “stunning” photo of Jodi. Her smile and charisma warms even the coldest of days. I know you miss her most but I am priviledged to have known her.

  7. Kathy U

    Hey Peg,
    I love Jodi’s picture. I see you in her, and sense her spirit in you. Thank you so much for sharing with me yesterday. I think you are such warm and sensitive person with such a powerful yet peaceful presence, I feel very lucky to know you.
    I will definitely take you up on that yoga class.
    Be well,
    Kathy

    • Peg Calvario

      Kathy,
      Thanks for the run! You gave me the inspiriation to write another letter to Jodi – thank you for that gift.
      We’ll definitely connect for yoga and more runs.
      Peg

Leave a Reply

